Aviation Colour Codes

The Aviation Colour Code (ACC) system is based on four colours and is only intended for use by the civil aviation community. The Aviation Colour Codes provide the aviation community with information about volcanic activity and the potential presence of volcanic ash in the atmosphere.

Volcanic Aviation Colour Codes Summary

Table showing the current volcanic aviation colour codes.

Volcano ICAO Colour Code
Whakaari/White Island Yellow
Ruapehu Green
Auckland Volcanic Field Green
Kermadec Islands Green
Mayor Island Green
Ngauruhoe Green
Northland Green
Okataina Green
Rotorua Green
Taranaki Green
Taupo Green
Tongariro Green

Volcano Map


Interactive Map showing New Zealand volcanoes and their aviation colour codes.